Hello Friends!

The sun is setting beautifully over the horizon, its a cool 72 degrees with nary a  mosquito in sight and this mama got an hour, yes a Whole Hour!, to run all by herself. Let me just say, this almost never happens. Most of the time I make my way along the trails with baby L. in her stroller and my Bella puppy tugging impatiently on her leash urging me to go faster, go faster!

This time though, it was just me, Kenny Chesney on my Pandora station and yes, Bella, because there’s no way I could leave her behind. 2.4 miles later, having shaved 3 minutes off of my time, this mama feels amazing! Except for some pesky shin splints that is. Needless to say, it was great. What was even better was coming home to dinner already prepared and waiting for me in the crock pot.

You see I am feeling like I’ve finally started to get a grasp on how to take care of my house, keep baby L alive, my husband happy, and food on the table. Recently I had an IBS flare up that landed me back in the E.R. and honestly I think it was just what I needed to give me some perspective. If the saying is true that you are what you eat well then I am most ashamed to say that since baby L was born I have been 3 cups of STRONG coffee, 2 double cheeseburgers, a large fry, and large coke with a salad, or pizza, or the occasional bowl of granola thrown in there for some variety. I’m so not kidding, I want to toss cookies just writing that but alas, motherhood is hard, hard enough to have me neglecting my favorite pastime of cooking and my health at the same time. After all, what’s the harm in McDonald’s if its the only meal you eat all day. Right? Right??

Okay well, starting over commences in 3, 2, 1 go. Without the excuse of painful knees or lingering pelvic pain to slow me down I have begun running again and with it I have started to reacquaint myself with the tools in my kitchen and the healthy cookbooks on my shelf. My personal favorites being Practical Paleo and Paleo Slow Cooking to name a few. I know, I know, we’ve been down this road before, but like I said my last E.R. trip has me convinced that I have literally been poisoning my body. So its time for a food revolution in the K household.

The organics section in Kroger, which is amazing might I add, and Whole Foods have become my favorite places on earth. (Aside from the trail that is) And armed with the helpful advice of the lovely Teresa Rutt my organic foods/ fitness mentor and  friend over at Steady Movement https://steadymovement.wordpress.com/ my new lifestyle changes are off to a pretty successful start.

On tonight’s menu:

A small pre-run salad consisting of organic baby romaine and spinach leaves, organic blueberries, and strawberries with a sprinkle of balsamic dressing, or in my husband’s case, half the bottle.

Home made 100% organic chili consisting of:

1 can dark red kidney beans–365 Brand from Whole Foods

1 can pinto beans–365 Brand Whole Foods

1 can sweet corn–365 Brand Whole Foods

2 cans organic diced tomatoes–365 Brand Whole Foods

2 small organic onions from Kroger

2 large organic red bell peppers from Kroger

1 pound organic 90% lean ground beef from Kroger

1/4 jar of Simple Truth Marinara sauce from Kroger

and various spices including garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and paprika.

Add some cheese, sour cream ,and white corn tortilla chips and you have heaven in a bowl. Or at least, I did. =]

After my first trip to Whole Foods I was pretty discouraged having spent $20 more than I was used to and walking away utterly confused. This time however I was more sale savvy and I only spent $10 more on the same amount of groceries which is a sacrifice I’ll gladly make knowing that I am filling my body with the most nutritious fuel I can find. Or as my husband would say, 10,000 mile AmsOil as opposed to a $10 recycled oil change haha.

I hope you will have just as much fun reading about my adventures in organics as I am having writing about them, and if by chance you feel inspired to start your own journey, even better! After all, my body is not my own, it was payed for a a very steep price, and it is a temple for the Holy Spirit. This means that not only to I have a spiritual responsibility towards it, but a physical one as well. And its about time I start taking that more seriously.

Side Note: Kombucha Tea may just be the very best thing I have found on the face of this earth to help the health of my gut and lower the frequency of my IBS flare ups. Seriously, this stuff is amazing.

Also, my baby L seems extremely happy about the new menu change as well and I attribute that to the higher quality of my milk thanks to the higher quality of my food.

Once Again, Thanks For Reading! See you next time for more Adventures in Organics

